Kano Sets up Committe to Design Strategic Metro Transport Master Plan

Kano state Executive Council has approved the constitution of a committee to design a Strategic Metropolitan Transport Master Plan aimed at regulating transport system in the metropolis.

The state commissioner for Information, Malam Muhammad Garba stated this while briefing newsmen on the outcome of the council meeting, held at the Africa House, Government House, Kano.

He said the development of a Transport Master Plan for the state aimed at strengthening economic growth and development in line with the megacity goal of the present administration.

Malam Garba said the terms of reference of the committee include working out a comprehensive mass transit system in order to address the current transportation challenges by identifying facilities and services necessary to manage the dynamics of Kano as an emerging Megacity.

The commissioner pointed out that the committee would also work on identifying routes for the proposed mass transit service buses, their model and capacity as well as bus stops for free flow of human and vehicular movement.

He also disclosed that the committee would determine the source of funding for the procurement of the buses that might be through a Public-Private Partnership (PPP), acquiring loan facility or direct purchase.

Malam Garba stated that the committee has been charged with the responsibility of working on the master plan that would have an impact on the economy of the state considering that an effective transport system is key to the productivity of any active economy.

The commissioner said the all-inclusive committee would make proposal on floating an out-fit and laws to regulate transport system in the metro area and also review previous interventions by the World Bank and the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office.

The committee, which is under the chairmanship of a one-time commissioner for Works Housing and Transport, Professor Abdu Salihi, has representation from the National Association of Road Transport Owners (NARTO), National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), Kano Emirate Council, Civil Society Organisation (CSOs), the Ulama, the Police, Department of State Service (DSS), Investors, Nigeria Institute of Transport Technology.

Others are the academic community, Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), Kano Road Traffic Agency (KAROTA), Vehicle Inspection Office (VIO), Kano State Chamber of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (KACCIMA), Kano Urban Planning and Development Authority (KNUPDA).

The rest are Kano Investment Commission (KANINVEST), Kano State Transport Authority aka Kano Line, the state House of Assembly, Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Trade Union Congress (TUC), Joint Negotiation Council (JNC), Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) and the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ).

A one-time commissioner for Works Housing and Transport and Adviser to the governor on Infrastructure, Engr. Mansur Ahmad is to serve as secretary of the committee.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s